Recipes · Uncategorized

Apples and Cinnamon Oatmeal

It’s winter here in southern Australia, which means warm comforting breakfasts and cute Christmasy cups. However, it’s summer on the other half of the planet where everyone actually lives. So if you want a colder breakfast you could do this as overnight oats I’m sure. Just let it cool and put it in the fridge for a few hours or overnight after it’s done.

IMG_0446

Alright I want to say sorry for the pictures. They’re not the best but hey I’m new and I’m trying so that’s my excuse.

I hate finding a recipe through a blog because they always write too much and I always get too into it and spend too much time reading it, so I’m just going to skip that and take you step by step. There’s also going to be a normal recipe, don’t worry. Don’t forget to excuse the pictures.

IMG_0428

First things first, an apple. Take half of a normal sized apple, or a whole small one. Or just however much you want but I like mine really apple-y so I use too much. Chop it up. Leave a few chunks to garnish in the end so it’s very pretty 🙂

 

Throw your apples, milk, and salt in a small pot and let it heat up on medium/high heat OR if you’re a bit impatient like me, blast the flames at the highest heat possible. The apples will still be raw, but it’ll be okay in the end. While that’s going on, measure out your oats. When the milk looks a little angry and has got a bit of a temper but it’s not boiling yet, toss everything else in.

Stir it, wait a few minutes, dump it in a bowl. That’s it. As you can tell it got a bit steamy in here. It’s hard to take pictures and wipe the lens while trying to prevent your food from burning. Especially when the heat is on 10 hehe, oops.

IMG_0442

My boyfriend always does a huge dramatic whiff and then goes “Mmmm” like he’s auditioning for a cheesy over the top commercial. Every time I’ve made these oats he does this, and even watches me and my bowl the whole way as I walk over to sit with him. He’s said twice now that it makes him want cinnamon buns. Maybe I’ll make some 😉IMG_0439

Now comes the actual recipe. I don’t add any sugar to mine so if you want yours reminiscent of the kind you get from a little bag,  add a big spoonful of maple syrup, honey, or brown sugar.You could also add peanut butter. Ooo you could make this into a peanut butter, banana and cinnamon oats. Oh no. I might have to have elevensies.


Recipe:

  • 165 ml (2/3 cup) your choice of milk, I just use plain old skim
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/2 of a medium apple, chopped
  • 40 g (1/4 cup) quick oats
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon or mixed spices
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • opitonal – 2 tsp maple syrup, brown sugar or honey

Put milk, salt and apples (reserve a handful of apples for garnish) in small pot on medium heat. Don’t let the milk boil. Let the apples soften until they reach your desired texture. At this point I end up eating half the apples from “just testing”. Add the oats, spices, vanilla, and optional sugar and stir. Let thicken for a few minutes then transfer to a bowl. Garnish with your handful of reserved apples and a sprinkle of cinnamon. You could add any toppings you want too – peanut butter, jelly, yogurt, etc. ENJOY!

Nutritional info: 1 serve without sugar = 253 calories; 11 g protein; 41 g carbohydrates : 5 g fiber, 18 g sugar; 3 g fat.


 

Thank you so so much for reading if you did. I’m a big fan of food and will likely mix in lots more recipes alongside the regular posts. I hope you don’t mind. I loved the positive feedback on my last post and had no idea just how friendly and amazing the community here is. It keeps me inspired to do more and I encourage any type of commenting on mine and other’s posts. Thank you again, times a thousand. ♥

See you soon!

~Lindsey

19 thoughts on “Apples and Cinnamon Oatmeal

  1. 🙂 We could nearly have met! I live near Ulm, not far away from Stuttgart at all.

    I hope you enjoyed your time here. So in 18 months you probably picked up some German, or rather Swabian, gell 😉

    Like

    1. Haha I probably did and didn’t even realize it. Although I visited Bavaria after I learned a bit of German and I thought they were speaking a completely different language, and even their English is SO much different than everyone else!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, we have a wide range of dialects. I am a Swabian native and even for me it is hard to understand a broad Bavarian dialect. And I’ve been told my English accent isn’t typically German either. People always guess wrong on where I am from 😀

        Like

      2. Germans are so better at English than people who grew up only speaking English (me). My boyfriend always gets asked if he’s Canadian and I met a German here who I thought was Australian. You guys are like chameleons haha

        Liked by 1 person

      3. It is easier for us because a lot of pop culture is in English, so the daily exposure is there. And meanwhile you need English for so many jobs. A lot of people I know speak more than just 1 foreign language. I am a European chameleon 😉 speaking English, French and Spanish besides my native Germany.
        Once you’ve mastered one language to a certain degree the next one usually is easier to learn.

        Like

  2. I laughed when you wrote that bit about online recipes being too wordy. I think so too, and I’m always scrolling to the end- “Just give me the recipe!!” Haha. I used to love warm, comforty oatmeal like this 🙂

    Like

      1. Yes, because now, I’m grain free 😦 and have had to cut out delicious comforty foods like this. Boooo!! Ah well, I’m surviving on pictures 😉

        Like

  3. Delicious! I love oatmeal, and I love winter. This post came just in time as I am despairing of the hot summer weather and missing sweaters and cozy mugs. Thanks for sharing this recipe, can’t wait to give it a try!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh that sounds yummy!
    I’ll keep that one in mind for a weekend breakfast in winter 🙂
    At the moment we are having around 30°C, but not long and it will be just right to have a warm cinnamonic breakfast 🙂

    Like

      1. Ha! This was our summer weather until a few days ago. We are all glad summer finally really is here.

        Yes, I am from Germany 🙂 Actually just having lunch break. I guess you are already enjoying your evening, aren’t you.

        Like

      2. Which part are you from? I lived in Stuttgart for a year and a half and loved it there although the weather was sooo slow while I was there too. When I left there in April this year everyone was still wearing coats.
        It’s 9 pm here! Enjoy your lunch 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

